Skip to content
MyBudgetHotel.com

Hotels with a kitchenette for a week-long stay in Austin

Verification pending — confirm directly with the hotel

1The situation

You're in Austin for a week or more — a work assignment, a hospital stay, a house-hunt, a gap between leases — and eating out three times a day in a city where a taco lunch is $15 will cost more than the room. The difference between a real kitchen (two burners, a full-size fridge, a sink you can wash a pan in) and a 'kitchenette' (a mini-fridge and a microwave) is $30-50 a day in food. Austin's extended-stay supply is thin and split: Extended Stay America and Studio 6 properties at $75-110 with real kitchens, and the Residence Inn/Home2/TownePlace tier at $150-250 downtown and in the Domain. The cheap ones are the ones worth knowing about, and the weekly rate — which you have to ask for — is where the money is.

2What you actually need

  1. A real kitchen, not a 'kitchenette'

    Ask specifically: how many burners, how big is the fridge, is there cookware. The two Extended Stay America properties here have a genuine full kitchen — stovetop, full-size fridge/freezer, microwave, dishes on request — and Studio 6 Midtown has a stovetop kitchenette with a toaster and utensils. By contrast the Comfort Suites 'kitchenette' is a microwave and a mini-fridge with no cooktop, which is a different product entirely. Some extended-stay brands keep cookware at the front desk — you have to request it.

  2. The 7-night rate, asked for by name

    Extended-stay brands price in breakpoints: nightly, 7+ nights, 30+ nights. The 7-night rate is often 15-30% under the nightly rate and is rarely shown on booking sites. Call the property, say how many nights, and ask for the weekly rate.

  3. Housekeeping cadence you can live with

    Budget extended-stays clean weekly by default (towel swaps on request). If that bothers you, ask what a mid-week clean costs. It is one of the reasons the rate is low — accept it or price in the alternative.

  4. On-site guest laundry

    A week means laundry. Coin or card machines on site turn a $20 trip to a laundromat into $5. Ask whether the machines work — reviews will tell you.

  5. A grocery store within walking distance or a 5-minute drive

    A kitchen is only a saving if you stock it. H-E-B is Austin's grocery chain and there is one near most of the clusters below; check the map before booking, not after.

3The shortlist4 hotels, cheapest first

Each hotel is here because it meets the requirements above — not because of its star rating. Prices are nightly rates before tax for the default dates; volatile facts (shuttles, parking terms) are stated as what to confirm, not as promises.

1.Studio 6 Extended Stay - Austin, TX - Midtown

3.4 mi from University of Texas Campus · 6603 North Interstate Highway 35, Austin, 78752

Studio 62-star
7.6/1040

Every room has a real kitchenette — refrigerator, microwave, stovetop, toaster, coffee maker and cooking utensils per the HotelPlanner and HotelsCombined listings — and weekly rates are the brand's whole business model, so ask for one by name. There is no breakfast, and expect I-35 noise.

Parking
Free self-parking on site, listed as $0 nightly, per the HotelPlanner and HotelsCombined listings.
Front desk
Not stated on any fetched source — confirm overnight desk hours with the hotel.
Check-in
3pm check-in per HotelPlanner and HotelsCombined.
Check-out
Sources conflict: noon per HotelPlanner, 11am per HotelsCombined — confirm with the hotel.
$58/nightbefore tax
Verification pending — confirm directly with the hotel
$58on Agoda · Sep 25–Sep 26 · before taxCheck live price →checked Sep 18

2.Extended Stay America Suites - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

0.7 mi from Rainey Street · 507 South First Street, Austin, Texas 78704

Extended Stay2.5-star
7.4/10160

A real full kitchen (stovetop, full-size fridge/freezer, microwave, sink, dishes on request per Kayak), on-site laundry, and an H-E-B a short drive down South 1st. Ask for the 7-night rate — weekly breakpoints are not published on the booking sites.

Parking
Free parking for guests per the OTA listings; Kayak lists 'parking available' without a price — confirm with the hotel.
Shuttle
No airport shuttle — per HotelPlanner (2026-09-12); not confirmed by phone.
Front desk
24-hour front desk per Kayak.
Check-in
3pm check-in per Kayak.
Check-out
11am checkout per Kayak.
$124/nightbefore tax
Verification pending — confirm directly with the hotel
$141on Agoda · Sep 25–Sep 26 · before taxCheck live price →checked Sep 18

3.Comfort Suites Austin Airport

2.3 mi from Austin-Bergstrom Airport · 7501 E. Ben White Blvd., Austin, Texas 78741

Comfort Suites2.5-starRenovated 2024
7.9/1063

Not an extended-stay brand: rooms have a microwave and mini-fridge and no cooktop per the HotelPlanner listing — fine for a week of breakfast and reheating, with a free hot breakfast and free parking. Ask for a weekly rate anyway.

Parking
Free self-park outdoor lot for guests per the HotelPlanner and parkingaccess.com listings; parkingaccess.com also lists a park-and-fly package of 7 days' parking with a room night plus $7 per extra day, currently shown as unavailable to book online. Confirm days and price with the hotel.
Shuttle
Free airport shuttle, but the hours differ by source — roughly 5-6am to 10-11pm, and one listing says it must be reserved about 12 hours ahead. It is not 24-hour; confirm the first/last run with the hotel.
Front desk
24-hour front desk per the OTA listings; a $100 card deposit is taken at check-in per one listing — confirm with the hotel.
Check-in
3pm check-in per HotelPlanner, early check-in on request.
Check-out
Noon checkout per HotelPlanner.
$135/nightbefore tax
Verification pending — confirm directly with the hotel
$134on Agoda · Sep 25–Sep 26 · before taxCheck live price →checked Sep 18

4.Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

0.2 mi from Austin Convention Center · 300 East 4th Street, Austin, 78701

Residence Inn by Marriott3.5-star
8.9/1010

Included as the benchmark for the upper tier: a genuine full kitchen with a full-size fridge/freezer and stovetop, free hot breakfast and laundry. Only makes sense for a week if an employer is paying — the valet alone is listed at $69/day, so compare honestly against $90 a night plus $0-10 parking elsewhere.

Parking
Covered valet parking listed at $69 per day with in/out privileges (one source says $65); valet-only is the common description. Confirm the current rate with the hotel.
Front desk
Not stated on any fetched source — confirm 24-hour staffing with the hotel.
Check-in
4pm check-in per the Marriott-fed listing; early check-in subject to availability.
Check-out
11am checkout per the Marriott-fed listing.
$269/nightbefore tax
Verification pending — confirm directly with the hotel
$279on Agoda · Sep 25–Sep 26 · before taxCheck live price →checked Sep 18

4Practical logistics

Weekly-rate breakpoints
Typically nightly / 7+ nights / 30+ nights at Extended Stay America, Studio 6, Candlewood and WoodSpring. Ask for the 7-night rate directly with the hotel — booking sites usually show the nightly rate only.
Housekeeping
Budget extended-stay brands generally clean weekly, with linen and towel exchange on request. Confirm the cadence and any charge for extra service directly with the hotel.
Grocery
H-E-B is the main chain: stores near South Congress/South 1st, Hancock Center (north of UT on I-35), Mueller, and multiple north Austin locations. Most hotels below are within 1-2 miles of one.
Hotel occupancy tax on long stays
In Texas, guests staying 30 or more consecutive nights are generally exempt from hotel occupancy tax. It does not help a one-week stay but matters a lot at a month — ask the hotel how they handle it.
Event-week pricing
Extended-stay rates spike like everything else during SXSW, ACL and F1 weekends. If your week overlaps, book early and lock the rate.

Prices and schedules change. Treat figures as ranges and check before booking.

5What to avoid

  • A cheaper nightly rate at a standard hotel that loses to the extended-stay weekly rate after four or five nights once you add food. Do the maths for the whole week, room plus meals.
  • 'Kitchenette' in a listing without checking what it means. At many chains it is a mini-fridge and a microwave. Ask for burners.
  • Booking seven separate nights on a booking site. You'll pay the nightly rate and may be moved rooms mid-stay. Call the hotel and book the week as one reservation.
  • The downtown Residence Inn/Home2 tier for a week unless someone else is paying — $150-250 a night plus valet listed at $65-69 a day. The same full kitchen is $80-120 a night on South 1st or I-35, with free or $10 parking.
  • Assuming daily housekeeping. It isn't, and complaining about it in the reviews doesn't change the brand's model.

6Book

Use the rate links on each hotel above. If a hotel's value depends on a named package (park & cruise, shuttle), confirm the package with the hotel before you pay — packages are usually direct-booking rate codes, not OTA rooms.

Same trip, different problem

Get price alerts for Austin

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. We only email when prices change.

This site contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission when you book through our links, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never change which hotels we shortlist.